Overwatch is a multiplayer FPS game that focuses on team play to achieve victory. Overwatch is a game published by Blizzard and as part of their 2 year anniversary, has released a Legendary Edition of the game available for purchase.


Overwatch is one of the first of its kind that brings a ton of teamwork play and unique characters to online shooter games. It starts with two opposing teams with each team having six players. Overwatch encourages teamwork among players by incorporating various synergies and team roles to characters that can do very well together to achieve various objectives. The game revolves around objectives and contesting them, you and your team are tasked to either defend and objective from the opposing team or be the offensive team and to try and take away the objective.

There are a ton of different characters in Overwatch, each having their own character specific skills and roles that they perform. The great thing about the characters in Overwatch is that each one is different from each other and every character has a unique set of skills and personality that matches their intended playstyle or role. There are currently 30 different playable characters that you can choose from. All the characters are divided into one of the three different roles, Tank, Damage, and Support. Try to build a balanced team composition for better chances of winning.

Overwatch also features a ton of beautiful maps. Each map has specific objectives and goals that the teams fight over for. The various objectives are Control, Assault, Escort, Capture the Flag, Elimination, and Team Deathmatch. Overwatch combines elements of MOBA games together with shooter games making it a unique, fun, and crazy experience.

Legendary vs Standard

There has been a lot of different questions and a lot confusion surrounding the different editions of Overwatch available for purchase. There are currently two different editions you can purchase as of the moment, Legendary Edition and Standard Edition. Just like most games nowadays, Overwatch makes skins and cosmetics for characters as additional content you can purchase using the in-game currency. The main currency for Overwatch are called credits. Each skin in the game has a rarity aspect and as the rarity goes up, the cost goes up as well. These rarities are Common, Rare, Epic, and Legendary. Rare skins are worth 75 credits, Epic skins are worth 250 credits, and Legendary skins are worth 1000 credits. Do note that these prices are not applicable to all skins since there are also some skins that cost more than others, especially if they are linked to various events.

The reason why I brought up skins and cosmetics in Overwatch is because the Legendary Edition actually includes a lot of different skins as some of its additional content. The Legendary Edition for Overwatch includes a total of 15 skins for different characters. You get to have 5 Epic rarity skins, 5 legendary skins and another 5 Origin skins if you purchase the Legendary Edition. The 5 Legendary and 5 Epic skins included in the Legendary Edition can be obtained through loot boxes while the 5 Origins skins are exclusive to Origins Edition or Legendary Edition owners only.

Here is a complete list of all the skins you get when buying the Legendary Edition of Overwatch:

Epic Skins

  • Pale Moira
  • Winter Widowmaker
  • Carbon Fiber Genji
  • Shrike Ana
  • Paragon Reinhardt

Legendary Skins

  • Valkyrie Mercy
  • Mysteryman McCree
  • Okami Hanzo
  • Fool Junkrat
  • Police Officer D.Va

Origin Skins

  • Strike Commander Morrison Solider: 76
  • Blackwatch Reyes Reaper
  • Security Chief Pharah
  • Overgrown Bastion
  • Slipstream Tracer

Aside from Overwatch skins, you also get other in-game freebies for other Blizzard games. This includes: You get Tracer if you play HOTS (Heroes of the Storm), a young Winston Pet that you can use in WoW, for Diablo III you get a vanity item that is based on Mercy’s Wings, some epic looking Overwatch hero portraits that you can use in StarCraft II, and for Hearthstone an Overwatch themed card skin.

Other than the Overwatch skins and the other extra in-game content, the Legendary Edition and Standard Edition of Overwatch is basically the same. All characters, maps and gameplay mechanics remain the same and are completely unlocked on both versions.

The Overwatch Legendary Edition is available for $39.99 while the Overwatch Standard Edition is available for $19.99. But in the near future, the Standard Edition will be provided with zero of charge to attract hardcore gamers!

You can check out more about the Legendary Edition for Overwatch on the Blizzard homepage.